In recent years the courts in Oregon have been imposing severe consequences for drunk driving-related convictions. I am Shelley L. Fuller, a Beaverton DUI lawyer with years of experience defending individuals accused of drunk driving-related offenses. I am committed to defending the rights of those accused of driving under the influence of intoxicants.
If you have been accused of DWI or DUI, contact my Oregon drunk driving criminal defense law firm or call my office at 503-626-1808.
Understanding the Legal Consequences
In Oregon, the sentences for DUI-related convictions are imposed in addition to the administrative driver's license suspension and ignition interlock device requirements.
- Jail Time: All drunk driving-related convictions will result in at least some time in jail. A person facing their first DUI conviction will have to serve two days in jail or perform 80 hours of community service. For a second DUI, a person will likely face between 30 to 60 days in jail, and a third conviction will result in a jail sentence between 90 and 180 days in jail. A fourth DUI will result in a felony DUI charge, which is a Class C felony in Oregon. This crime carries a mandatory prison sentence ranging from 19 to 24 months. Following prison, there is a supervision period.
- Chemical Dependency Evaluations: For all levels of conviction, defendants will be required to undergo a chemical dependency evaluation. This evaluation is an additional $150 fee, and includes talking with a professional who will review your history of drug and alcohol use and prior convictions. The evaluator will make a recommendation with respect to the minimum number of substance abuse treatment sessions that you will need to attend at a state-certified drug and alcohol treatment program.
- Victim Impact Panel: In addition, persons convicted of drunk driving in Oregon will be required to attend a two-hour victim impact panel and pay a $40 fee to attend that course.
- Fines: The fines that the court will impose are dependent on the amount of alcohol in your system at the time of your arrest. Fines generally range between $1,000 to $2,000 and defendants have the ability to make a plan for payments.
- Vehicle Impoundment or Forfeiture: Depending on the circumstances of your case, you may also face the loss of your motor vehicle.
The consequences of a DUI conviction are substantial and the rules can be confusing. Working with an experienced attorney can help you deal with your charges in a timely manner and allow time to concentrate on your family and work obligations. Don't try to handle these requirements on your own.
Contact Beaverton Substance Abuse Treatment and DUI Defense Lawyer Today
I Want to Help: 503-626-1808 | Email My Law Firm Today
If you are facing a drunk driving-related charge, call my office today. I want to help you.